Minnesota Soil Health Coalition Board Meeting Minutes

Friday, January 25th 2-4pm

Redwood Falls Airport 500 Airport Rd, Redwood Falls, MN 56283

- The meeting was called to order by Brian Pfarr at 2:25
- Appoint Board Members steering committee made a recommendation to a 7 member initial board consisting of Tom Fick, Chris Schmidt, Ben Dwire, Jamie Labat & Tom Cotter all serving 3 year terms. Along with Eric Stelling and Brian Pfarr serving 2 years terms.
- Approve Board Members-after some brief discussion about term lengths and Board members
 locations throughout the state the decision was made to move forward with the steering
 committee's recommendation for the initial Board
- Appoint Officers Chair- steering committee asked the board for volunteers for Chair, after no volunteers, Pfarr was nominated as Chair (Schmidt, Labat) MSC, no other nominations.

 Nomination for Schmidt as Vice Chair (Pfarr, Fick) MSC, no other nominations.

 Discussion as had whether to have a secretary and treasurer or a joint position, decision was made to separate the duties at this time. Dwire was nominated as Secretary (Pfarr, Schmidt)

 MSC. Fick was nominated for treasurer (Pfarr, Labat) MSC.
- Agenda was approved- motion to approve, (Dwire, Labat) MSC
 Pfarr motioned to name Jennifer Hahn as the Minnesota Soil Health Coalition Coordinator,
 second Fick MSC
- Reported on the Filing of Articles of Incorporation- Hahn reported on the status of incompletion.
 The groups name has been secured and now that a board is in place she can proceed with obtaining an EIN and completing remaining tax and organizational paperwork
- Adopted Bylaws- motion to adopt and approve draft Bylaws (Dwire, Schmidt) MSC

- Designated Principal Office-Tom Fick's address 1157 110th Ave, Luverne, MN 56156 will be the
 Coalition's official address
- Selected and Adopted Accounting Year of January 1st to December 31st of every year (Labat,
 Dwire) MSC
- Approved to Open a Bank Account-a checking account will be opened at MinnWest Bank by Tom
 Fick (Labat, Fick) MSC
- Approved to File for Tax Exemption-Ben Dwire and Jennifer Hahn approved to prepare and submit the paperwork (Pfarr, Schmidt) MSC
- Approved to File Required State Reports-Ben Dwire and Jennifer Hahn approved to prepare and submit the paperwork (Pfarr, Labat) MSC
- Form for Membership Certificates-presented and edit to add option for organizational membership and a lifetime membership, seek out a reciprocity with SD SHC and add to membership form, update contact information (Schmidt, Dwire) MSC. Recommend a \$25 annual individual membership fee (Fick, Labat) MSC
- Approved Strategic Plan- motion to approve (Dwire, Fick) MSC
- Reviewed Proposal to the Minnesota Natural Resources Conservation Service-add two staff
 members, increase outreach budget, motion to approve along with any additional edits Hahn
 and the steering committee see appropriate (Labat, Fick) MSC
- Designate Committees- discussed possible committees, current committees would be
 - Kick of Committee-members include Lauren Biegler, Brian Pfarr, Grant & Dawn
 Breitkreutz, Kristin Brennan, and Chris Schmidt
 - o Funding/Financial Committee-members include Grant Breitkreutz and Ben Dwire
 - Outreach Committee-members include Holly Hatlewick, Kurt Mathiowetz, Theresa
 Keaveny, and Karlie Breitkreutz/Wellnitz

 Adjourned- discussed Hahn sending out a doodle pool to schedule next meeting date, time and location. Motion to adjourn 4:10pm (Schmidt, Labat) MSC

In attendance:

Theresa Keaveny

Doug Voss

Tom Fick

Lauren Biegler

Ryan Benedict

Clifford Johnson

Ben Dwire

Matt Tiffany

Jamie Labat

Jason LaVoy

Allen Deutz

Dawn Breitkreutz

Grant Breitkreutz

Doug Bos

Jeff Duchene

Kristin Brennan

Brian Pfarr

Holly Hatlewick

Jennifer Hahn

Chris Schmidt

Kurt Mathiowetz